Reconnecting with Jeff Buckley

I learned tonight that my roommate didn’t know who Jeff Buckley is, a clear musical travesty. I set about introducing him to the brilliant singer/songwriter, dusting off my copies of “Grace” and “Sketches for My Sweetheart the Drunk.”

As I played “Last Goodbye,” “Lilac Wine” and “Yard of Blonde Girls,” I realized I hadn’t listened to these songs in ages. Everyone’s heard Buckley’s cover of “Hallelujah” (arguably the best version of Leonard Cohen’s original), which does demonstrate the fragility and beauty of Buckley’s voice, but you need to hear his brilliant songwriting in “Last Goodbye” and “Yard of Blonde Girls” to truly appreciate him.

I want these blogs to start a music discussion, so let me know what you think! Do you hate my picks? Have any suggestions?

